Cairo council members take oaths of office

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Erik Yabor/Times-EnterpriseCairo City council members Lannis Thornton, Bobby Gwaltney and Jerry Cox are sworn in to new terms

CAIRO — Three Cairo City Council incumbents were sworn in Monday night to begin new four-year terms.

The terms that council members Lannis Thornton, Bobby Gwaltney and Jerry Cox were sworn into Monday will expire in December 2023. The three council members, each of whom were already on the council last year, were victorious in last year’s elections, and their new terms on the council began this week after they were sworn in by city attorney Thomas Lehman.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Thornton obtained the most votes in November’s election against challengers Ann Williams and Alicia Byrden-Gurley, but it was not enough to prevent a runoff the following month. Thornton was narrowly re-elected by a margin of 144 votes to Williams’ 134.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Gwaltney defeated challenger Timia Brown in November by a margin of 305 votes to 60.

Cox similarly defeated challenger Emory Thomas by a margin of 254 votes to 48.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间In a separate action, Cox was also selected to serve as mayor pro tem in 2020.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Cox, who is beginning his fifth year on the city council, has never served as mayor pro tem. Typically, the council member selected to serve as mayor pro tem has spent at least five years on the council.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Council member Jimmy Douglas motioned that Cox be named mayor pro tem, and the nomination was approved without objection.