Swearing in

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Jay Flowers and Wanda Warren are sworn in to four-year Thomasville City Council terms.

THOMASVILLE — Greg Hobbs returned to Thomasville City Council mayoral duties at Monday night’s Thomasville City Council meeting.

By secret ballot, Hobbs received three votes to one each for council members Jay Flowers and Todd Mobley.

David Hufstetler was elected mayor pro tem with three votes to one each for Flowers and Mobley.

Hufstetler said he he was humbled by being chosen mayor pro tem.

“I reiterate my pledge to always do the right thing,” Hufstetler said.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间City council members elected a mayor and mayor pro tem from among council members every two years.

Hobbs, who is serving his third consecutive term as mayor, and Hufstetler are midway in their respective four-year terms.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Wanda Warren, the first African-American woman elected to the city governing body, formally took office Monday night. Warren was elected in December, defeating Nate Tyler in a runoff. Warren and Tyler were the top vote-getters in a November election that included Terry Scott, 2019 mayor pro tem, who was at the end of his first four-year term.

Flowers, who was unopposed in the November 2019 election, also was sworn in at the Monday meeting.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Hobbs urged those attending the council meeting to read the city charter.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间“Our job is to govern,” he said, then adjourned the meeting.

2020年欧洲杯赛程详细时间Senior reporter Patti Dozier can be reached at (229) 226-2400, ext. 1820